AstraZeneca and Bristol-Myers Squibb Announce U.S. FDA Approval of Farxiga™ (dapagliflozin)

Category:

Wednesday, January 8, 2014 5:06 pm EST

Dateline:

WILMINGTON, Del. & PRINCETON, N.J.

Public Company Information:

NYSE:
AZN
NYSE:
BMY

WILMINGTON, Del. & PRINCETON, N.J.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--AstraZeneca (NYSE:AZN) and Bristol-Myers Squibb Company (NYSE:BMY) today announced the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has approved Farxiga™ (dapagliflozin).

Please click here for US Full Prescribing Information for Farxiga.

The companies will provide additional details regarding the approval in a press release to follow.

About the AstraZeneca/Bristol-Myers Squibb Diabetes Alliance

Dedicated to addressing the global burden of diabetes by advancing individualized patient care, AstraZeneca and Bristol-Myers Squibb are working in collaboration to develop and commercialize a versatile portfolio of innovative treatment options for diabetes and related metabolic disorders that aim to provide treatment effects beyond glucose control. Find out more about the Alliance and our commitment to meeting the needs of health care professionals and people with diabetes at www.astrazeneca.com or www.bms.com.

On December 19, 2013 AstraZeneca and Bristol-Myers Squibb announced an agreement under which AstraZeneca will acquire the entirety of Bristol-Myers Squibb’s interests in the companies’ diabetes alliance to consolidate worldwide ownership of the diabetes business within AstraZeneca. The closing of the transactions contemplated by the agreement is subject to customary terms and conditions, and is expected to occur during the first quarter of 2014.

About AstraZeneca

AstraZeneca is a global, innovation-driven biopharmaceutical business that focuses on the discovery, development and commercialization of prescription medicines, primarily for the treatment of cardiovascular, metabolic, respiratory, inflammation, autoimmune, oncology, infection and neuroscience diseases. AstraZeneca operates in over 100 countries and its innovative medicines are used by millions of patients worldwide. For more information please visit: www.astrazeneca.com.

About Bristol-Myers Squibb

Bristol-Myers Squibb is a global biopharmaceutical company whose mission is to discover, develop and deliver innovative medicines that help patients prevail over serious diseases. For more information about Bristol-Myers Squibb, visit www.bms.com or follow us on Twitter at http://twitter.com/bmsnews.

Contact:

Media:
Bristol-Myers Squibb
Ken Dominski, 609-252-5251
ken.dominski@bms.com
or
AstraZeneca
Kristin Rogers, 302-885-8922
kristin.rogers@astrazeneca.com
or
Investors:
Bristol-Myers Squibb
Ranya Dajani, 609-252-5330
ranya.dajani@bms.com
or
Ryan Asay, 609-252-5020
ryan.asay@bms.com
or
AstraZeneca
Karl Hard, 44-20-7604-8123
karl.j.hard@astrazeneca.com
or
Anthony Brown, 44-20-7604-8067
Anthony.brown@astrazeneca.com
or
Jens Lindberg, 44-20-7604-8414
jens.lindberg@astrazeneca.com
or
Colleen Proctor, 302-886-1842
colleen.proctor@astrazeneca.com

Search Press Releases

Reset



Subscribe to E-Mail Alerts

Business Wire NewsHQ℠